Quick Links

Quick Links

Leighton Middle School


At Leighton Middle School, governors work with staff and parents to support the aims of the school in action. Our governing body comprises men and women from many different backgrounds who are able to contribute their expertise and interests to the continuing development of the school we support. Should you wish to know more of our plans do not hesitate to get in touch with me via the school office.

Mr Rob Jefferis
Chair of Governors

Leighton Middle School Governors September 2023 onwards

All members of the Full Governing Board - sub-committees disbanded.

Mr Ashfaque Alichowdhury

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Joanne Bellamy Co-opted Governor

Mrs Sheila Bernarde

(Vice Chair)

LA Governor

Mr Neil Green

Co-opted Governor

Mr Robert Jefferis


Co-opted Governor

Mr Mark Lovell

Parent Governor
Ms Sheila Meekums

Co-opted Governor

Mr Robert Moore Co-opted Governor

Mr Gavin Prechner

(Vice Chair)

Parent Governor

Miss Natalie Black

Staff Governor

Mrs Claire Vallance

Head Teacher

Mrs Frances Gibbs

Co-opted Governor


Safeguarding & Prevent Link Governor

Mrs S Bernarde 


The Clerk to the Governors can be contacted via the School Office.


Previous Members of the Governing Body

Terms of Office

Mr David Jones

Parent Governor September 2022 - August 2023

Mr Paul House

Co-opted Governor February 2021 - July 2023

Mr Neil Green

Staff Governor April 2016 - August 2023

Mrs Dorothy Englert

Co-opted Governor September 2022 - February 2023

Mr Jamie Thorpe

Co-opted Governor  September 2018 - September 2022
Mrs Angela Herbert Co-opted Governor February 2021 - March 2022
Mr Oliver Smith Co-opted Governor February 2021 - March 2022
Dr Fiona Dry Co-opted Governor February 2021 - March 2022
Mrs  Maggie Hazelden Co-opted Governor June 2010 - August 2020
Mr Michael Howe

Co-opted Governor

September 2014 - August 2019

September 2019 - August 2021

Mr Zach Dover Parent Governor April 2018 - March 2021
Mr John Foley Parent Governor September 2019 - August 2020

Dr Tricia Meers

Co-opted Governor

Associate Member

September 2013 - August 2018

September 2018 - August 2019

Dr Anne Taylor

Co-opted Governor

February 2011 - August 2019

Mrs Joanne Ahmet

Co-opted Governor

January 2022 - June 2023



Financial Information

Information on how the school spends relative to other schools can be found here

No employees have a salary greater than £100,000/year.